So much for aspiration – the purpose of the Universities is to turn you into a walking CV to apply for a stagnant pool of vacancies that don’t exist

Posted: April 22, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

So much for aspiration – the purpose of the Universities is to turn you into a walking CV to apply for a stagnant pool of vacancies that don’t exist

This is a Comment Is Free item from The Guardian this week. It’s depressing message fits in with one of my artworks.

 

the handwriting repeatedly reads the lines "this system sucks the life from me."

the handwriting repeatedly reads the lines “this system sucks the life from me.”

hand written lines repeatedly read "This system sucks the life from me…..."

hand written lines repeatedly read “This system sucks the life from me……”

Laurie Penny – The GuardianMonday 21 April 2014

Sorry students, I lied to you. University is about desperation, not aspiration

The graduate premium is going down as tuition fees and debt go up: but for today’s students that’s just the tip of the iceberg.
” I want to apologise to those young people [I mentored], because I lied to them. I didn’t mean to lie. At the time I entirely believed what I was telling them: that taking on education debt would always be worth their while; that they should go to university for the love of learning, because they were talented and brilliant and longed to study – and not just with one eye on the well-paid jobs that they would surely get after graduating. Wherever they are, I’d like to say sorry for trying to persuade those kids that higher education was meant to be about reading lots, meeting new people, and getting excited about ideas.Because it turned out that it’s actually just about making yourself more “employable”. It’s about fashioning yourself into a walking CV to compete for a stagnant pool of graduate jobs that are paid less in real terms every year, and taking on a rotten amount of debt in the process.”
The last paragraph of this article is very important in my view, I think it is a muted rallying cry that those in University should not accept the present system and should set about a change for the future, even if it’s too late for themselves?
If I were to go back to 2006 and meet those students again,
I’d still tell them to go out and get the best education they can – not because it’ll get them a good job,
but because reading, learning and expanding your horizons is necessary if you’re going to understand what’s being done to the world around you, and to change your collective circumstances.
Comments are closed.