Marketing Popup Banners

Posted: June 1, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Popups have been an integral part of the exhibition and display industry for more than 15 years – particularly with the introduction of large format digital display printing technology which meant you could have a minimum run of one. Almost everybody in marketing departments will have seen one, the majority will have used one and most will have been involved in purchasing one. Popup displays are a way to achieve a high end look on a low end budget – or in my case, virtually zero budget.

I have been fortunate to be allowed to up-cycle several popups retrieved from a pile of unwanted or faulty ones at a Cardiff Repro company. I painted the popup marketing banners and added distorted figures and other artwork designs and ideas on a narrative theme. My idea was to utilise these popups as a series of guerrilla art interventions. An art exhibition I can literally pop up and pop back down in virtually any location. Their size of approx 2m x 1m unfolded and portability because of their light weight of approx 6kg meant that these were ideal canvasses for the type of artworks I had envisaged.

photoshopped image printed on 4xA3 sheets transferred using a translucent type of silicone adhesive

photoshopped image printed on 4xA3 sheets
transferred using a translucent type of silicone adhesive

I used acrylics and iridescent acrylic… and coffee

I used acrylics and iridescent acrylic… and coffee

I used a number of risky techniques on the finish of this banner. I used a gas torch, soldering iron, bathroom sealant and "drew" with wet wipes.

I used a number of risky techniques on the finish of this banner. I used a gas torch, soldering iron, bathroom sealant and “drew” with wet wipes.

a pop up art intervention.here I'm photographing my artworks in a corporate environment

a pop up art intervention.here I’m photographing my artworks in a corporate environment

What are my artworks about?

I have tried to galvanise various strains of my developmental ideas that I’ve made over the last eighteen months into a narrative. My artwork depicts the anthropological notion of “Structural Violence”. As a narrative for these exhibition pieces I have referred to the 2008 Joseph Rowntree Foundation study which identified four main “Social Evils”.

Greed and the decline of honesty are among seven social evils undermining Britain’s society, according to a report by the Joseph Rowntree Foundation. The research organisation said collapsing moral values and failing institutions such as the education system blighted the lives of millions. A report by the group found the abuse of drink and drugs, the permanence of poverty and the breakdown of the family are all scourges that deeply worry most of the population. The foundation said that while many of today’s problems can be solved, social evils run deeper and are “something more complex, menacing and indefinable”. They “imply a degree of scepticism, realism or despair over whether any remedy can be found”. The research found there was a deep unease about rampant greed, individualism and decline of community. Respondents said that they felt our society has become more greedy and selfish, at a cost to sense of community. They said that Britain no longer share a set of common values and that we have lost our ‘moral compass’. Rampant greed was blamed on the behaviour of those in positions of power and influence; politicians, corporations and bankers.

In my research and dissertation essay I have referred to the elite group as a neo-feudal paradigm. I have also referred to my research into a mass cognitive dissonance and the worship/fetishization of commodities and the commodification and monetization of basic human needs and rights. My artworks are a response to my feelings, my anger and my research.

 

Marketing popup materials specification:

Basic Roller Banner

  • 2120mm Single-sided roller banner
  • 850 and 1000mm widths
  • snap rail
  • Twist out feet for balance and stability
  • Anodised silver finish
  • Carry bag included
  • weight approx 6kg
Comments are closed.