Working within the Labour Party: the Welsh language, devolution and the ‘road to independence’

Posted: May 5, 2015 in Uncategorized

Very sad news on the weekend that a legend of activism in Wales is Gravely ill. Thoughts are with Ray and his family.

CAMBRIA NOSTRA

ray 4

By Ray Davies

When I was first elected as a County councillor in May 1964, I wanted to raise awareness and campaign for more Welsh language in our schools.  Every overture I made to Headteachers and educationalists in Monmouthshire and Glamorgan County Council met with a frosty reception.  None of the mainstream political parties was interested in anything Welsh. I was outraged by the fact that even in our primary schools they refused to sing the Welsh national anthem.

After Local Government Re-organisation in 1974 I was elected onto the new Mid Glamorgan County Council. I campaigned vigorously for new Welsh schools.  At that time  most Welsh schools were housed in old classrooms, with leaky roofs and miserable surroundings;  but the education being delivered was top quality.

I fell out with my colleagues on the Labour Group when a former Caerphilly Girls’ Grammar school became available, and I proposed that…

View original post 1,013 more words

Comments are closed.