‘Hiatus irrationalis’: A Poem by Jacques Lacan in Translation

Posted: August 8, 2016 in Uncategorized

my love is a fire eternal…

The Yawn Of Nonsense – A translation of Jaques Lacan poetry.

Saprographs: parasitical writings


Below is a translation of a poem by Jacques Lacan, ‘Hiatus irrationalis,’ by me.
            Lacan’s poem first appeared in the surrealist magazine Le phare de Neuilly (issue 3), a monthly revue edited by Lise Deharme lasting four issues, in 1933; it was again published in 1977 in Magazine littéraire II (1977): 121. I have included a transcription of the version that appears in the latter below, following my translation.[1]
            It is very much a creative and poetic translation rather than a literal one and is a rendering of the work in a new, or at least different, manner (even going as far as not retaining the Latin title); with this, it is obviously formally different and veers from what might be considered a ‘direct’ translation. I have attempted to retain the ‘spirit’ of the text but in as much as it is mediated by my poetic sensibilities, it…

View original post 346 more words

Comments are closed.